I launched the Mentally Strong People podcast in the fall of 2020 and we’ve had some amazing guests who have shared their expertise and inspirational stories. In addition, I’ve enjoyed hearing from my listeners about their favorite topics and ideas for future guests to interview.  Now, after 53 episodes, I’m thrilled to announce some exciting news about the future of the show. The Mentally Strong People podcast is becoming The Verywell Mind Podcast! I’ve been a freelance writer for Verywell since 2012, and stayed with the company through several major shifts and transitions—and they stayed with me as my career transitioned too. I went from being a full-time therapist who wrote articles on a part-time basis to becoming a full-time author and speaker and Verywell cheered me on every step of the way.  Last fall, the team at Verywell approached me about becoming the Editor-in-Chief of Verywell Mind, an opportunity I happily accepted. Not only am I taking on a bigger role in the company, but we are also teaming up on the podcast. I’m confident that together we’ll reach more people as we spread awareness on how to improve psychological well-being and cultivate mental strength. Follow Now: Apple Podcasts / Spotify / Google Podcasts

What to Expect

Although the podcast will have a new name and look, the show’s content will remain relatively the same. I’ll continue to host and I’ll keep delivering great content that will help you think, feel, and do your best in life.  Every Monday, I’ll share an interview with an inspirational guest. We’ll talk about their story, their struggles, and their strategies for developing mental strength.  If you’ve listened to the show, you know former guests have included:

Danica McKellar (actress and author) Darryl Strawberry (MLB all-star) Ally Brooke (recording artist and former Fifth Harmony member) Dan Harris (anchor of Good Morning America) Lori Gottlieb (psychotherapist and bestselling author)

Some of my upcoming guests will include:

Kendall Toole (Peloton instructor)Melissa Bernstein (co-founder of Melissa & Doug)Mike Bayer (life coach and bestselling author)Jamie Kern Lima (founder of IT Cosmetics)

I’ll continue offering the “Therapist’s Take” at the end of each interview, where I’ll break down the guest’s mental strength strategies and share how you can apply those exercises to your own life. Every Friday, I’ll keep sharing the “Friday Fix” episodes. During these short episodes (usually 10 minutes or less), I’ll provide a quick tip on how to deal with a mental health issue (like how to stop overthinking) or I’ll share a specific mental strength exercise (like how “smelling the pizza” can calm you down).  I’ll also share case studies from my therapy office so you can see how these strategies work in everyday life. 

How to Listen

The Verywell Mind Podcast will be available across all streaming platforms. Anyone currently subscribed to the Mentally Strong People podcast won’t have to do anything to remain subscribed to the show. We’re excited to keep sharing content with you that will help you build the mental strength you need to live your best life.  If you know someone who could benefit from learning more about mental strength, send them a link to the show. That simple share could help them feel better and grow stronger. Subscribe Now: Apple Podcasts / Spotify / Google Podcasts / RSS