But, without a clear timeline or short-term objectives, those goals often fall down on our list of priorities, and we never find time to work on them. That’s why New Year’s resolutions rarely work. We overestimate how much time we’ll have to work on our goals and underestimate how much work it’s actually going to take.  It’s easy to push off a goal until later when you think you have a whole year to work on it. And it’s tempting to convince yourself that you can take the day off when you think one day doesn’t really matter.  Soon, you might realize how much every day counts as you have limited time to reach your goal. That’s why I have found 30-day challenges helpful in my life. Sometimes, they motivate me to create change. At other times, they provide me with information. I treat them as a behavioral experiment that I test for 30 days. When they’re over, I can decide if I want to continue with the changes I made. On this episode of The Verywell Mind Podcast, I share how to create your own 30-day challenge. I also explain why they work so well and provide examples of challenges that might inspire you to create your own.

More About the Podcast

The Verywell Mind Podcast is available across all streaming platforms. If you like the show, please leave us a review on Apple Podcasts. Reviews and ratings are a great way to encourage other people to listen and help them prioritize their mental health too. If You Liked This Episode You Might Also Like These Episodes: For media or public speaking inquiries, contact Amy here.

The Science Behind Doing Hard Things With Human Performance Expert Steve Magness Friday Fix: The Difference Between Being Strong and Acting Tough Friday Fix: 5 Changes to Your Environment That Will Help You Build Mental Strength